[amsat-bb] ARRL Field Day

Paul Stoetzer n8hm at arrl.net
Fri Jun 23 15:44:01 UTC 2017

The issue isn't about the contacts counting, the issue is what
constitutes a dupe. Under AMSAT rules, working the same station on
different satellites does not result in a dupe. Under ARRL rules,
working the same station on different satellites results in a dupe
since "satellite" is a single band.

The way that is worded does not make that entirely clear.


Paul, N8HM

On Fri, Jun 23, 2017 at 11:27 AM, jim at k6ccc.org <jim at k6ccc.org> wrote:
>  Ray - W2RS said (in part):
>> "You do not receive an additional bonus for contacting different satellites, though theadditional QSOs may be counted for QSO credit."
>> I can read that either way, so I suggest that the ARRL rule be reworded next year to eliminate the ambiguity.
> What is confusing about that?  You get the 100 point bonus for making a single satellite contact.  Additional contacts via satellite do NOT net you an additional 100 point bonus.  Additional contacts DO count for your QSO count (unless prohibited by rule  Read section 7 of the Field Day rules and in particular section 7.3 and it's quite self explanatory.
> [ http://www.arrl.org/files/file/Field-Day/2017/2-2017%20Rules-1a.pdf ]( http://www.arrl.org/files/file/Field-Day/2017/2-2017%20Rules-1a.pdf )
> 73
> -----
> Jim Walls - K6CCC
> jim at k6ccc.org
> _______________________________________________
> Sent via AMSAT-BB at amsat.org. AMSAT-NA makes this open forum available
> to all interested persons worldwide without requiring membership. Opinions expressed
> are solely those of the author, and do not reflect the official views of AMSAT-NA.
> Not an AMSAT-NA member? Join now to support the amateur satellite program!
> Subscription settings: http://www.amsat.org/mailman/listinfo/amsat-bb

More information about the AMSAT-BB mailing list