[amsat-bb] Re: remailer

Greg D ko6th.greg at gmail.com
Thu Oct 31 20:20:57 PDT 2013

Hi Jim,

A "550" response is usually because the remailer's spam filter (or more 
specifically, the service the remailer contracts with to provide that 
filtering function) thinks your email is coming from a source known to 
be a provider of spam.  My experience with these filters is that they 
are incredibly crude, often rejecting all email from a particular 
provider, legitimate or otherwise.  Yes, they block spam, but there's a 
lot of non-spam that gets swept up with it too.  Not their concern, 
apparently, as they did block the spam...

Often these lists get corrected without (additional) intervention, 
either because of the outcry from others, or an alert staff.  If not, 
you will need to contact your provider and let them know that you are 
being blocked.  They will need the email header information, where the 
specific spam filter contact information is usually located.  I've not 
had much luck getting things cleared up with the filtering service on my 

Good luck,

Greg   KOO6TH

Jim Sanford wrote:
> All:
> Anything up with the remailer?  Just got a bounce on 2 emails I sent 
> to somebody @amsat.org:
> host inbound.ucsd.edu[]:
> 550 #5.7.1 Your access to submit messages to this e-mail system has 
> been rejected.
> Thanks & 73,
> Jim
> wb4gcs at amsat.org
> ---
> This email is free from viruses and malware because avast! Antivirus 
> protection is active.
> http://www.avast.com
> _______________________________________________
> Sent via AMSAT-BB at amsat.org. Opinions expressed are those of the author.
> Not an AMSAT-NA member? Join now to support the amateur satellite 
> program!
> Subscription settings: http://amsat.org/mailman/listinfo/amsat-bb

More information about the AMSAT-BB mailing list