[sarex] 2009 CQ Hall of Fame: Frank Bauer, KA3HDO

Dino Darling dino at kx6d.com
Thu May 14 23:50:27 PDT 2009

CQ Communications, Inc./ 25 Newbridge Rd. / Hicksville, NY USA 11801
Phone: 516-681-2922 / Fax: 516-681-2929 / Web: 


For more information, contact:
Rich Moseson, W2VU, Editor
CQ Amateur Radio
516-681-2922 / <mailto:w2vu at cq-amateur-radio.com>w2vu at cq-amateur-radio.com



(Dayton, OH - May 15, 2009) -- CQ magazine today
announced its 2009 Hall of Fame inductees,
welcoming 15 new members into the CQ Amateur
Radio Hall of Fame, two new members of the CQ DX
Hall of Fame and one new member of the CQ Contest Hall of Fame.

The CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame honors those
individuals, whether licensed hams or not, who
have made significant contributions to amateur
radio; and those amateurs who have made
significant contributions either to amateur
radio, to their professional careers or to some
other aspect of life on our planet. The 2008
inductees (listed alphabetically) are:

Baker, Bill, W1BKR - President Emeritus, WNET-TV
(Thirteen), New York PBS flagship station.

Barton, Loy - Developed class B plate modulation,
primary method of modulating tube transmitters for decades.

Bauer, Frank, KA3HDO - NASA Chief Engineer for
Exploration Systems; International Chairman,
Amateur Radio on the International Space Station
(ARISS), 1996-2009; AMSAT VP Human Spaceflight, 1991-2009.

Bridges, William, W6FA - Laser pioneer; developed
first "noble gas" lasers (argon, krypton, xenon)
and the dominant modulation system for feeding
data into fiber-optic cables; Professor Emeritus of Engineering at CalTech.

Fernandez Martin, Fernando, EA8AK - Member of the
European Parliament, representing Spain; former
President of the Government of the Canary
Islands, former President of URE (Spanish IARU organization).

Floyd, George, WA4DGA (SK) - Author of "Scratchi"
column in CQ over four decades. An engineer and
executive at General Electric, he also wrote the
"Lighthouse Larry" column in GE employee newsletters.

Haseltine, Eric, AB3DI - Former Associate
Director of National Intelligence for Science and
Technology; former Director of Research, National
Security Agency; former Executive Vice President
of Research and Development, Walt Disney Companies.

Hollingsworth, Riley, K4ZDH - Former Special
Counsel for Amateur Radio, Federal Communications
Commission. "Cleaned up" the ham bands after 15 years of neglect by the FCC.

Kilby, Jack - Inventor of the integrated circuit,
which revolutionized electronics, including amateur radio equipment.

Krischke, Alois, DJ0TR - Prolific German author
of antenna books. Rothammels Antennenbuch, a
1000-page reference showing virtually every
amateur radio antenna ever designed, is in its 12th edition.

Maxwell, Walt, W2DU - Antenna designer
(specializing in spacecraft communications) and author.

Miller, Lt. Gen. Thomas, K4IC (SK) - Deputy Chief
of Staff for Aviation, USMC (1975-79) - in charge
of all Marine Corps aviation; "father" of
short-takeoff & vertical landing (STOVL) aviation
in the USMC. Close friend of Sen. John Glenn;
quietly watched out for amateur radio interests on Capitol Hill.

Morgan, Wilse, WX7P- Conducted first amateur
radio license exam session under the Volunteer
Examiner program in 1984; helped get VE program
approved; also designed innovative antennas.

Parise, Ron, WA4SIR (SK) - Astronaut and active
ham in space. First ham to operate packet radio
from space and pioneered "telebridge" concept for
making more frequent school-shuttle contacts
possible. Also helped develop Radio JOVE,
educational program for monitoring natural radio signals from Jupiter.

Whitehead, Clay, W6WW (SK) - First Director of
the White House Office of Telecommunications
Policy in the 1970s; reshaped America's
television landscape by bringing competition to
the domestic satellite market and making it
feasible for cable companies to distribute their own programming via

The CQ Contest and DX Halls of Fame honor those
amateurs who not only excel in personal
performance in these major areas of amateur radio
but who also "give back" to the hobby in outstanding ways.

The 2009 inductee to the CQ Contest Hall of Fame is:

The Rev. Paul Bittner, W0AIH - Paul's contest
station near Eau Claire, Wisconsin, is known in
Midwestern contesting circles simply as "The
Farm." Spreading across 120 acres, Paul's farm
grows a wide variety of antennas as well as
regular crops of new contesters. Paul constantly
seeks out and trains new contesters at his
multi/multi station, and welcomes visiting hams
from around the world. He was nominated by the Minnesota Wireless

The 2009 inductees to the CQ DX Hall of Fame are:

Neville Cheadle, G3NUG - Nominated by both the
Chiltern DX Club and the Southeastern DX Club,
Neville this year is celebrating his 50th
anniversary in amateur radio. During that time,
he has confirmed 366 DX countries and nearly 1000
islands. As founder of the Five Star DX
Association, Neville has been instrumental in
organizing four major DXpeditions, which have
involved more than 90 hams from 14 different
countries and have accounted for over a half
million radio contacts! Neville is also the
co-author of DXpeditioning Behind the Scenes, a
handbook for hams on planning, setting up and
operating successful DXpeditions.

Tom Harrell, N4XP - Tom has confirmed 361 DXCC
entities, holds 9-band DXCC, 5-band Worked All
Zones and WPX awards for SSB, CW and mixed-mode.
Tom has also operated from 19 different DXCC
entities, including two DXpeditions on which he
was Team Leader and three on which he was co-Team
Leader. Most recently, he served as Director of
Off-Island Support for the BS7H operation from
Scarborough Reef, providing regular news reports
for the DX community. Tom was nominated by the German DX Foundation.

Formal inductions to the CQ Contest and DX Halls
of Fame were scheduled for the contest and DX
dinners, respectively, at the Dayton Hamvention.R


Dino - KX6D
dino at kx6d.com
(please note my new e-mail address and update your address books) 

More information about the SAREX mailing list