[amsat-bb] Re: FD Contacts!
kq6ea at pacbell.net
Mon Jun 25 21:00:07 PDT 2007
Well, that may be, but I read the Field Day rules, and
as we all know, Field Day is NOT a "contest".
If other rules override the Field Day rules, it should
be widely published, or mentioned in the Field Day
rules, which it aint.
I agree that making more than one contact violates the
*spirit* of the rules, but NOT the written Field Day
--- George Henry <ka3hsw at earthlink.net> wrote:
> Actually, it's implicit in rule 7.2 of the "ARRL
> General Rules for All
> "7.2. Score reduction may be made for taking credit
> for unconfirmed QSOs or
> multipliers, duplicate contacts or other scoring
> (operative phrase being "scoring discrepancies")
> At the very least, the station handing out contacts
> violated the intent of
> the "one contact" rule. Moreover, for every one
> contact he "handed out",
> TWO other stations could have made their contacts
> and gotten off the bird.
> He actually DECREASED the QSO rate....
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: "Jim Jerzycke" <kq6ea at pacbell.net>
> To: "George Henry" <ka3hsw at earthlink.net>;
> <amsat-bb at amsat.org>
> Sent: Monday, June 25, 2007 2:50 PM
> Subject: Re: [amsat-bb] Re: FD Contacts!
> > The rules say nothing about more than one contact
> > voiding the others, or about making a contact with
> > someone who has already made more than one.
> > All you get is the 100 points; more contacts on an
> > bird get you nothing but the wrath of everyone who
> > hears you.
> > Jim KQ6EA
> > --- George Henry <ka3hsw at earthlink.net> wrote:
> >> -----Original Message-----
> >> >From: "Reicher, James" <JReicher at hrblock.com>
> >> >Sent: Jun 25, 2007 9:37 AM
> >> >To: amsat-bb at amsat.org
> >> >Subject: [amsat-bb] Re: FD Contacts!
> >> >
> >> >I managed my one contact per FM bird also and
> >> concentrated on AO-7
> >> >and VO-52. I didn't manage as many as George,
> >> we did pretty well.
> >> >
> >> >I found the FM birds to be much more orderly
> >> in years past. I
> >> >thought that the one station who was handing out
> >> quick contacts to the
> >> >others worked very well.
> >> [snip]
> >> I'm not sure that I see the upside to someone
> >> "handing out quick contacts" that will ultimately
> >> tossed because he broke the rules.... invalid
> >> are invalid for BOTH parties, are they not? If
> >> was someone's one and only satellite contact,
> >> goes their 100-point bonus!
> >> George, KA3HSW
> Sent via AMSAT-BB at amsat.org. Opinions expressed are
> those of the author.
> Not an AMSAT-NA member? Join now to support the
> amateur satellite program!
> Subscription settings:
More information about the AMSAT-BB