[amsat-bb] Re: AMSAT-BB Blocked

Robert Snyder rsnyder at toontown.erial.nj.us
Sun Oct 22 14:02:58 PDT 2006

On Oct 20, 2006, at 9:51 PM, John Mock KD6PAG wrote:

> I'm seeing similar reports in the past week or so.  Also, no  
> headers have
> been provided, so i can't diagnose this on my own right now.  I  
> also go
> copies of a couple of my own postings, and the 'From:' line in my  
> message
> was "amsat-bb-bounces at amsat.org [mailto:amsat-bb- 
> bounces at amsat.org]" (as i
> read the AMSAT-BB on-line due to its volume).  I suspect the  
> malware is
> thus also sending infected e-mail using 'amsat-bb- 
> bounces at amsat.org' and
> perhaps your ISP, legitimately on auto-pilot, is blocking messages  
> from
> this Sender.  The fix to this will probably vary from ISP to ISP.

Generally, most spam prevention tools ignore any email address they  
find inside a spam message, since they are so easily forged.  
Typically, you look at the IP address the spam was sent to your  
systems from, since you trust your own systems to correctly report  
the incoming IP address. What is probably happening is that the mail  
forwarding service for callsign at amsat.org is forwarding along spam  
that was sent to various ham's aliases. The ISPs look at the IP  
address the spam is arriving from, and when a certain threshold is  
reached, starts blocking all email from that IP address, assuming  
it's all spam. If both the forwarding service and the mailing list  
are sent from the same AMSAT machine, both will get blocked.


More information about the AMSAT-BB mailing list